Shouldn’t parents be the ones responsible for their children’s safety?
Parents and guardians have a primary role in keeping their children safe. But parents must rely on schools to protect their children from harm when they are on campus.
California students spend 6-8 hours each day, 5 days a week at school.
Parents need to know that California schools prohibit dating abuse and have policies and procedures in place to respond to incidents.
Parents need to know how to make a complaint if their child is in danger.
Parents need to know that schools will address incidents of violence, harassment, bullying and abuse on campus, whether it comes from a peer or a dating partner.
Sadly, these needs of parents are not currently adequately addressed in California due to glaring gaps in the law.
Many states and school districts now require schools to have dating abuse policies.